## GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Development Advisory Committee, the National Design Council, the Standards Council of Canada, the Textile and Clothing Board, the Metric Commission and the Minister's Advisory Council.

**Department of Insurance.** The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1970, c.I-17). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, who is the Deputy Head, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to federally incorporated insurance, trust, Ioan and investment companies; provincially incorporated insurance originates and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; pension plans organized and administered for the benefit of persons employed in connection with certain federal works, undertakings and businesses; and life insurance issued to certain members of the Public Service prior to May 1954.

Under the relevant provincial statutes, the Department examines trust and loan companies incorporated in Nova Scotia, trust companies incorporated in New Brunswick and insurance and trust companies incorporated in Manitoba. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Department of Justice. This Department, established by SC 1868, c.39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1970, c.J-2). The Minister of Justice is the official legal adviser of the Governor General and the legal member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. It is his duty to see that the administration of public affairs is in accordance with law, to superintend all matters connected with the administration of justice in Canada that are not within the jurisdiction of the provincial governments, to advise upon the legislation and proceedings of the provincial legislatures, and generally to advise the Crown on all matters of law referred to him by the Crown. The Minister of Justice is, ex officio, Her Majesty's Attorney General of Canada. In this capacity it is his duty to advise the heads of the departments of the Government of Canada on all matters of law connected with such departments, to settle and approve all instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, and to regulate and conduct all litigation for or against the Crown in the right of Canada. The Minister of Justice reports to Parliament for the Tax Review Board and the Law Reform Commission of Canada.

**Department of Labour.** The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (SC 1900, c.24) and now operates under the authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1970, c.L-2). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: fair employment practices; hours of work, minimum wages, annual vacations, holidays with pay, equal wages, group and individual terminations of employment, severance pay and the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour in contracts made with the Government of Canada for construction, remodelling, repair or demolition of any work; government employee compensation, merchant seamen compensation, and employment safety; and transitional assistance benefits for auto workers and adjustment assistance benefits for textile workers and for footwear and tanning workers. It promotes joint consultation with industries through labour management committees and operates a women's bureau. The Department publishes the *Labour Gazette* and other publications as well as general information on labour management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian government and the International Labour Organization. The Canada Labour Relations Board and Information Canada report to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.

Department of Manpower and Immigration. The Department of Manpower and Immigration, created under the provisions of the Government Organization Act 1966 and operating now under RSC 1970, c.M-1, has responsibility for the development and utilization of manpower resources in Canada, employment services and immigration. The Department is composed of three operational arms: Operations Canada; the Manpower and Immigration Divisions; and two support service divisions, Program Development and Administration. Operations Canada directs the activities of 400 Canada Manpower Centres and 95 Immigration Centres in Canada assisted and co-ordinated by regional offices in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver. The Canada Manpower Division is responsible for counselling programs, manpower training and mobility programs, employer services and services for disadvantaged workers and students. The Canada Immigration Division administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination, enforcement and control, planning and priorities, movement and admission of immigrants to Canada, and for the exclusion or deportation of undesirable persons. The Department maintains 62 immigration offices abroad. The Department's support branches include the Strategic Planning and Research Division which supplies development and evaluation research, and the Administration Division which provides financial and management services, and personnel and information services.